A Night In Wandi

On a night in Wandi
There was a man with crazy hair
And a golden beard
His laugh was a match for the blasting music
I discovered he was twenty-one
Only just a man
With wisdom beyond his years
Although we just met
I felt like I already knew him
Like we were old friends
I was drawn to his ‘tell it like it is’ attitude
He was an open person that exuded honesty
Our birthday’s were only two days apart
Although separated by two years
Everyone was dancing, singing and downing drinks
It distracted us from the extreme cold
When the party settled down we all slept in a mess
On the living room floor
As I shivered in my sleeping bag in the darkness
I couldn’t help but glance his way
As he lay nearby
The next morning he left in a flash
Like the piercing sun on our hungover eyes
Something in me knew I would see him again
Now it’s a year later
And we couldn’t be happier
On that night in Wandi
On the freezing living room floor
He was curiously looking back

(Happy One Year M!)

Leave a Reply

