Mirror Conversations

Look at me.

At my ticked eyeliner.

My smokey eye-shadow.

Contoured cheek bones.

Lacquered lips.

Curled lashes.

Sharp eyebrows.

I did all this for you.

I did it so you’d think I’m pretty.

Not that you think being pretty is an important trait in relation to your personality.

Being pretty won’t fulfill your sense of achievement as you grow.

You don’t even care what anyone else really looks like.

Unfortunately, you have this built in need to receive approval from everyone else.

Particularly men.

You’re not pretty on the inside if you rely so heavily on materialism.

You’re right…

I know…

I’m still going to wear makeup.

I know.

2 thoughts on “Mirror Conversations

Leave a Reply

