A Reworking Of Love

 

“Never close your mind to whom you have invited to peer in,

I am nothing, you are nothing. Though something dwells within.

At first you were a familiar stranger. No thought of love existed,

Then solos met in duets and our melody persisted.

You brought me to a mode of speech without self editing,

Your face brought a source of light I found worth admitting.

Nothing is sealed in fate. Everyday is a choice,

Could you feel the same without the calm in their voice?

Feel our hand grooves gently grow deeper,

Discard others like souls to the reaper.

A trade of giving oneself over to the other,

A destruction of privacy for the gain of a lover.

It may appear at times you lose identity,

Something uncontrollable, its own entity.

Instinctively you will find a balance in the tether,

Even when apart you will always be together.

A secret bonds us upon every kiss

Hand in hand, we float through the abyss.”

 

Explanation

This poem was created after consuming a lot of chocolate. Not just any old chocolate but Baci. For those who do not know, Baci chocolates come wrapped up with a little piece of paper with a quote about love. Usually from notable people but some anonymous.

I kept a whole bunch of these quotes and wrote them down. Some were superb in simplicity while others were on the verge of being regurgitated into Valentine’s Day card messages.

After seeing them all together I took elements from each quote and tried to embed them into a poem with my own take of love. I did not want the poem to be too romantic but rather a more honest description on what I have experienced.

Below I have listed all the quotes I used for inspiration and would like to thank the authors, Baci and my partner for the material. Enjoy!

Never close your lips to one to whom you have opened your heart. – Anonymous

Love me because without you I can do nothing, I am nothing. – P. Verlaine

I loved you at first sight. And you smile because you know it. – A. Boito

To love a person is to learn the song that is in their heart. – Anonymous

Love brought me thence, who prompts my speech. – Dante Alighieri

Your face is the sun, and the sound of your words is harmony. – Veronica Gambara

To love is a choice and a kiss seals that choice. – Anonymous

He who wants to be loved needs to become lovable. – Proverbio

Grow old along with me, the best is yet to be. – G. Sand

A friend to all is a friend to none. – A. Schopenhauer

My soul is with you, I will give you love in exchange for love. – Eloisa

Love does not destroy: indeed, it makes you perfect. – Tommaso d’Aquino

Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies. – Aristotele

Love has its own instinct, finding the way to the heart. – Honore de Balzac

A kiss is a secret told to the mouth instead of the ear. – E. Rostand

A friend is by your side, is loyal through thick and thin. – Brunetto Latini

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

